# What is CVE-2024-6119?

> CVE-2024-6119 is a high-severity flaw (CVSS 7.5) in OpenSSL, published on 3 September 2024. It is not on the list of flaws known to be exploited today. The latest forecast puts its chance of use in the next 30 days at 67%. If you run an affected version, plan in the vendor’s fix.

Canonical page: https://www.precursorintelligence.com/what-is/cve-2024-6119

## At a glance

- **Verdict:** Fix this soon. Not confirmed as exploited yet, but serious or likely enough that it should not wait for a quiet month.
- **Precursor Intelligence risk score:** 55 out of 100 (Medium); action: Plan remediation. Kept up to date as the evidence changes.
- **Severity:** High (CVSS 7.5 out of 10)
- **Known to be exploited:** No, not on the list of flaws known to be exploited today
- **Chance of use in the next 30 days:** 67% (latest exploit-likelihood forecast)
- **Published:** 3 September 2024
- **Record last updated:** 17 June 2026
- **Main product:** OpenSSL
- **Affected products:** 19

## What is CVE-2024-6119? In plain terms

It can be attacked from anywhere on the internet without logging in, and nobody has to click anything. If it works, the attacker can take it offline.

### The official description

Issue summary: Applications performing certificate name checks (e.g., TLS
clients checking server certificates) may attempt to read an invalid memory
address resulting in abnormal termination of the application process.

Impact summary: Abnormal termination of an application can a cause a denial of
service.

Applications performing certificate name checks (e.g., TLS clients checking
server certificates) may attempt to read an invalid memory address when
comparing the expected name with an `otherName` subject alternative name of an
X.509 certificate. This may result in an exception that terminates the
application program.

Note that basic certificate chain validation (signatures, dates, ...) is not
affected, the denial of service can occur only when the application also
specifies an expected DNS name, Email address or IP address.

TLS servers rarely solicit client certificates, and even when they do, they
generally don't perform a name check against a reference identifier (expected
identity), but rather extract the presented identity after checking the
certificate chain.  So TLS servers are generally not affected and the severity
of the issue is Moderate.

The FIPS modules in 3.3, 3.2, 3.1 and 3.0 are not affected by this issue.

### What kind of flaw is it?

- CWE-843: Access of Resource Using Incompatible Type ('Type Confusion')

### How an attack on it works

- Where an attacker can be: Anywhere on the internet
- How hard it is to pull off: Easy: no special conditions
- Login needed first: No login needed
- Does someone have to click: No, nobody has to do anything
- What an attacker gets: Can take it offline

Severity vector: `CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H`

## Is CVE-2024-6119 being exploited? Not that we know of

It is not on the list of flaws known to be exploited today. The latest forecast puts the chance of it being used in the next 30 days at 67%. That can change at any time, which is why we keep watching.

Exploit likelihood over the last 7 days: 67%, 67%, 67%, 67%, 67%, 67%, 67%.

### Timeline

- 3 September 2024: Published
- 13 October 2025: Exploit likelihood jumped
- 17 June 2026: Record last updated

### How Precursor Intelligence ranks it

CVE-2024-6119 scores **55 out of 100 (Medium)**, with the action "Plan remediation".

Every published flaw gets a risk score from 0 to 100, kept up to date as the evidence changes. Four things go into the score, from the one that counts most to the ones that count less:

- Evidence it is being exploited: biggest factor
- How severe it is: strong factor
- How widely exposed it is: smaller factor
- Threat activity around it: smaller factor

85 and above is Critical. Anything confirmed as exploited is always marked for an emergency patch, whatever its score. When this flaw matches software you track, it lands in your list with its score and the reasons behind it.

## Who is affected by CVE-2024-6119?

The published record lists 19 products. Versions are as published: "3.0.0 to before 3.0.15" means from 3.0.0 up to, but not including, 3.0.15.

- [OpenSSL](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/openssl/openssl) by [OpenSSL](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/openssl) (Application): 3.0.0 to before 3.0.15, 3.1.0 to before 3.1.7, 3.2.0 to before 3.2.3, 3.3.0 to before 3.3.2
- [500f Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/500f_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [A250 Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/a250_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [Active Iq Unified Manager](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/active_iq_unified_manager) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Application): version not specified
- [Bootstrap OS](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/bootstrap_os) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [Brocade Fabric Operating System](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/brocade_fabric_operating_system) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [C250 Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/c250_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H300s Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h300s_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H410c Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h410c_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H410s Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h410s_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H500s Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h500s_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H610c Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h610c_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H610s Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h610s_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [H615c](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h615c) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Hardware): version not specified
- [H700s Firmware](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/h700s_firmware) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Operating system): version not specified
- [Management Services for Element Software and Netapp Hci](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/management_services_for_element_software_and_netapp_hci) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Application): version not specified
- [Ontap 9](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/ontap_9) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Application): version not specified
- [Ontap Select Deploy Administration Utility](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/ontap_select_deploy_administration_utility) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Application): version not specified
- [Ontap Tools](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/product/netapp/ontap_tools) by [Netapp](https://www.precursorintelligence.com/vendors/netapp) (Application): 9

## How do I fix CVE-2024-6119?

1. **Check whether you run it.** Compare your versions with the affected products above. Not sure what you run? Precursor Intelligence can work it out from your public website, or you can pick it from a list.
2. **Apply the vendor’s fix.** Install the update named in the vendor’s advisory. We’ve put the advisories and patch notes first in the list.
3. **If you can’t patch today.** Follow any mitigation the vendor publishes, and limit who can reach the affected system from the internet until the update is in.
4. **Keep an eye on it.** Track the product and we tell you as soon as we spot this flaw on the list of exploited flaws, or a jump in its exploit likelihood.

### References

- [github.com](https://github.com/openssl/openssl/commit/05f360d9e849a1b277db628f1f13083a7f8dd04f) (Patch)
- [github.com](https://github.com/openssl/openssl/commit/06d1dc3fa96a2ba5a3e22735a033012aadc9f0d6) (Patch)
- [github.com](https://github.com/openssl/openssl/commit/621f3729831b05ee828a3203eddb621d014ff2b2) (Patch)
- [github.com](https://github.com/openssl/openssl/commit/7dfcee2cd2a63b2c64b9b4b0850be64cb695b0a0) (Patch)
- [openssl-library.org](https://openssl-library.org/news/secadv/20240903.txt) (Vendor advisory)
- [openwall.com](http://www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/09/03/4) (Mailing list)
- [lists.freebsd.org](https://lists.freebsd.org/archives/freebsd-security/2024-September/000303.html) (Mailing list)
- [security.netapp.com](https://security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20240912-0001/) (Third-party advisory)
- [cert-portal.siemens.com](https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-082556.html)
- [cert-portal.siemens.com](https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-613116.html)
- [cert-portal.siemens.com](https://cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-769027.html)

## Questions

### What is CVE-2024-6119?

CVE-2024-6119 is a high-severity flaw in OpenSSL, published on 3 September 2024. It can be attacked from anywhere on the internet without logging in, and nobody has to click anything. If it works, the attacker can take it offline.

### How serious is CVE-2024-6119?

It scores 7.5 out of 10 on the CVSS severity scale, which is high. Our risk score for CVE-2024-6119 is 55 out of 100, which is Medium. Its action is "Plan remediation". Not confirmed as exploited yet, but serious or likely enough that it should not wait for a quiet month.

### Is CVE-2024-6119 being exploited?

It is not on the list of flaws known to be exploited today. The latest forecast puts the chance of it being used in the next 30 days at 67%. That can change at any time, which is why we keep watching.

### Which versions does CVE-2024-6119 affect?

For OpenSSL: 3.0.0 to before 3.0.15, 3.1.0 to before 3.1.7, 3.2.0 to before 3.2.3, 3.3.0 to before 3.3.2. The record lists 19 products in all, each with its versions, under "Who is affected" on this page.

### How do I fix CVE-2024-6119?

Install the update the vendor names in its advisory, linked first under "How do I fix" on this page. If you can't patch today, follow the vendor's mitigation and limit who can reach the affected system from the internet.

## Does CVE-2024-6119 affect you?

Precursor Intelligence keeps checking for you:

- **Tell us what you run.** Pick your software from a list, or let us work it out from your website.
- **We match it to every flaw.** Over 400,000 published flaws, checked against your list.
- **Ranked by real-world risk.** Every flaw gets a 0 to 100 risk score, kept up to date, led by evidence criminals are using it.
- **Told as soon as we know.** An alert by email, in the app or by webhook to your own tools.

Start free (no card, nothing to install): https://www.precursorintelligence.com/register
Book a demo: https://www.precursorintelligence.com/contact

